top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Alex

Once Upon a Time.. :My Journey as a Vlogger turned Blogger..

Updated: Oct 13, 2020

My Love for Video logging started at an early age when my Mom's father gifted my Dad a "NIKON COOLPIX ". But Since it was a priced possession of the house only the elders were allowed to use it.Summer of my 10th Class i was selected to represent my school in a Cultural Exchange program at Singapore and my parents gifted me a " CAMERA" .Lavender coloured SONY CYBERSHOT ,the only electronic item I owned at one point of time.The Hustle and Bustle of High School and the constant urge to get good grades in 12 th boards as well as in the Entrance exams deprived me of all entertainment.But "Lavy "(Go on you can make fun of that name) was a lifesaver at Class picnics,School Social events and much more.During 12 th Grade I was allowed to use my Granddad's Old Nokia Slidephone .College gave me the privilege to own my first Android Mobile Phone 📱,but my carelessness lead to the death of it.My Dad gave me an ultimatum and got me another phone "The Redmi Note 4 ",the phone with which i started this journey. I Started recording and "Quick "app by GOPRO helped me compile my content .I always found an interest in logging about my experiences and the new places I visit and compiling it into a Video.Initially I used to share it on WhatsApp with closed ones but as the files got larger the videos started getting cut into parts disrupting the flow of events.That's when the idea of a YouTube Channel was brought about.Our Channel was Started in APRIL 2018 as " Miss Alexander's World ".Slowly, acquaintances started giving their inputs one of which I'll never forget was by Anna Mathew chechi that was to record holding the phone Or camera in a horizontal alignment so that when we edit their will be no black space on the screen.She suggested "Adobe Spark " as a good app for video making.But Sadly it wasn't available on Android.I invested on my first Gorilla pod (Not the Original but a decent one with good reviews on Amazon)." Lavy " was brought into the scene.We 🎥🎬👀 filmed our "Mattanchery "vlog using it .This time I used the " MOVAVI " PC VERSION and edited on my laptop. By then I owned a laptop 🐒.Again the watermark spoilt the video and sound was always a problem.I continued filming but my editing skills needed a revamp,so I started my research.I started following Vloggers on YouTube and Instagram .I took a lot of Online video sessions on Video editing,Vlogging using mobile camera etc. That's when I came across " KRITIKA GOEL"s channel it was so real and raw that's something I was looking for. In one of her videos"Tips for Starting a YouTube Channel " she said something which really encouraged me,she said that you don't need to have fancy gear and high funda equipment to pursue your passion as a Vlogger, we should start with what we have and learn, gain new skills to improve it and that Our Passion will take us to greater heights and to always introspect why we wanted to start a channel and to stick to core motive of starting the channel.So I decided that I wouldn't wait till I can afford a high end camera or an editing software.That's when "KIKI" conducted a giveaway and I happen to win it .It was a "Licensed Editing Software " I tried using it but somehow my OS wasn't supporting it.So I continued editing my vlogs on my phone tried using a lot of Random apps from Play store . But nothing seemed to work right for me. That's when the idea of creating a Channel teaser came in to my head, with the help of my Photographer friend Robert Harry it became a reality.We hit our first 100 Subscribers. Throughout this journey I had so many people encourage and support me with their time,insights and much more. My friend Jeremiah ("Jerry" as we call him) got a new phone and he let me use it to Vlog during one of my trips.I loved how the phone and specially the camera, and wanted to update my phone.All of a sudden my old phone stops working and who knew I am going to get a new one ,that too the one I wanted "REDMI NOTE 5 PRO"(The best part is my old phone starts working after I get the new phone,strange isn't it??Trust me I ain't responsible for that!!🐭 ).My Dad said he'd use my old phone since his was damaged and the new one could be kept by me and till date it has been a good companion.JOHN (Joekuttan) was the one who gave me the idea of creating an Instagram handle for my channel .On May 9 2018, we started miss Alexander's world which today is @alex_the_storyteller.There were days I would day dream of the day I would walk in the street and someone would recognize me as " Miss Alexander".I was is in the Race to make a Change and be the face but little did I know that "to make a change you need to be the change ".I started working on myself ,my attitudes,my motives and goals.

There were many rough times when I felt discouraged to go forward ,felt like giving up on this hobby but then god put people in my life who were a constant source of encouragement at the right time. I invested in a Collar Mike and Tripod stand .We continued posting but the growth was slow.At a point I was desperate to gain crowd not knowing it was going to leave me disappointed. That's when I introspected as to why I started this journey. Going back to the roots of our journeys always helps us to align ourselves in the right track. I realized I need not compare my growth to anyone and that I needed to be happy with whatever I could do so far. I started finding satisfaction in my work even if I didn't get likes, subscribers, followers. I stuck true to my core reason of starting a channel that is " To share my experiences and thoughts to the world ", it is upto them to take it and would never stop sharing however discouraged I feel. Days, Months,Years passed I started becoming more confidant and we got one More "Camera handpod" . We were blessed to do a bit of travelling towards the end of 2019 during my final year of college break and so some exciting content came up on the Channel. I'm still Learning new things each day and it has been quite a Journey. Still using the same phone to capture content. In Love with "KINEMASTER" , it's so user friendly and ever since I found out about it I have been obsessed with it. Recently I have been Experimenting with my editing style and it has quite turned the game up . I started my New Venture "Meraki way of Life by Alex the storyteller ".My very own baby project came to Life in 2020.Take it slow and steady, Consistency is the Key. The Real fuel that keeps me going are heartwarming moments when some post or video you shared was a blessing to someone and they share it with you makes it worth the struggle.To getting our story featured on "Official People of India" to being able to make someone's day by a motivational quote ,we have come a Iong way.The Love for Writing and Media lead me to pursue my Masters in Journalism and Mass Communication .Bible verse illustration is a new hobby and it's getting a good response.I am grateful to the Lord Almighty for the blessings he has given me in the form of people .Special mention to "Elen " who religiously follows all my videos and give me the right inputs and a truck load of positive energy.Special thanks to my Girl gang(Alfive and Rajagiri kochikars)who have had my back in all my ventures.Jerome and Allen sir for the late night pep talks. To all of you who are reading this,I just want to say a Big "Thank you" for all the Support and A virtual hug for all the inputs so Far. If I have been able to grow in this field it is truly by God's grace and your prayers and wishes. God bless you all

Cheers

Miss Alex.

105 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page