top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Alex

'amateur de livres rares' A Girl who found her escapade in the world of books.

Growing up I had Recurrent Respiratory infections and Allergies which limited my Outdoor activities to a bare minimum. At a Young age I had to find ways to engage myself in the premises of my residence. So I turned to books. All I had were my School textbooks and the Weekly Subscription of a Children's Magazine called "Magic Pot".I read all the Lessons of my Textbooks over and over again, even the ones not taught in Class. Cover to Cover I was familiar with all the stories in magic pot. My parents were amazed at the speed at which I read and started getting me an Activity book every week. The Fresh pages of an Activity book brought life into me. To my parents surprise I used to finish the entire book within two days that they had to limit the number of sheets I solved so that they can keep me engaged with it for a week. My Grandparents also played a key role in cultivating my reading habit by getting me new books each time they visited. I was Slowly exposed to English Classics and then Indian Classics . Steadily I graduated from Little Red Ridding hood to Enid Blyton Classics like Amelia Jane, Famous Five, Secret Seven, St Claire's etc. Marmalade was my new fantasy food which I wanted to try, picnics by the lake were my dreams. AmarChitraKatha opened a Whole avenue of Indian Cultural heritage which caught my attention immediately. Coming from a family of history buffs , ACK graphic novels and comics became one of my go to reads. Tinkle Comics became my Bed time partner, Travel companion and a must buy from a railway station. I love how certain books associate to certain phase of life, each of book has a story to tell of it's own reader.

Then for a Whole Season I was into Indian Classics started with R. K Narayan's "Malgudi Days", Swami and his friends became my best friends. I explored more Indian Classic Authors like Ruskin bond etc, at that time Harry Potter was the in thing. Our Primary School Library only had few copies, so students used to gobble up their lunch and rush to the library to borrow the book. For whatever reason my parents never allowed Harry Potter /Goosebumps or any book with evil looking creatures on the cover, inside our house,so I was never left to indulge in fantasy novels. But looking back, it was probably a good thing because I discovered much better genres to indulge in. My book choices were always made fun of but nevertheless I never gave up. There was a Phase in my life when all my recess was lived in the library. I used to borrow a Book every two days . My Librarian became suspicious and didn't allow me to borrow more than 2 books a week.But i persisted and convinced her to lend me atleast 4 books a week on one condition, she asked me to orally recite the summary of the books I borrowed. She did this to check whether I actually read these books. It came to a point my Librarian was happy and satisfied. She started helping me pick out books and even told me when new books came in. I had Good life with books till probably 8th Grade.Bookfairs and Bookstores like "Pai Co"were my reward stops. Slowly the Burden of High school, Enterance Exams took over , I read a book Or two over three weeks. That's when 9th Grade History lesson made me fall in love with Charles Dickens and Jane Austen. I was fascinated by eloquent mannerisms, the elaborate dinner table spread and the overburdening dressing style .Sailing away I found this gem of an Author "Sudha Murty" who was introduced to us by our Class Teacher Miss Veena . She made it a point to read a Short story by this Author during free periods. Long story short, Needless to say I have almost read every book written by her.Medical College turned my schedule upside down leaving very less time for leisure reading. So it became A book over three months, in good seasons it was 2 . Finally, After College once I started working I have now found my love back and now working on intentionally spend time for leisure reading.

Blossom book House has played an Immense role in it because,their collection of books and making it available at discounted rates have always been an encouragement to buy a Physical book. Probably I have graduated from my Innocent phase of loosing myself in the world of books , but it still gives me the same joy. I don't think I'll ever get the same joy reading an Ebook on Kindle.Books helped me understand my emotions better.They gave me a Space to weep like a Baby while reading books like "When breath become air" by Paul Kalanithi and laugh out while reading Ramu & Shamu comics. So that's it. So What are you waiting for?? Pick up that book that you have been wanting to finish for and start on. Happy Reading.

Yours

Miss Alex




70 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page