top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Alex

Eye -A Plethora of Untold Emotions.

This is a Recording from the Covid scenario when we all had to mask up and the only way of communication or identification were the "EYEs" (For Future reference).It's 12:40 pm in the In patient Ward clock , the afternoon heat hitting you up and you can hear your brain brawling with your mind to go take a break. Finally giving in to it considering the sounds coming from my tummy, I head towards the Washbasin in the side of the Treatment room that's when I get a call from my on floor doctor for an order regarding a Patient in Bed 10 , A Call that made me introspect life as it is. Being in the Medical field you experience situations where you need to keep your emotions away and act on fact basis, the toughest place to be at. I pray and hope that nobody gets to be in such situations . The Condition of the Patient in Bed 1 had been explained to the Patient relatives and they were out of no option but to give her a peaceful end to her life, they had consented for withdrawal of extra supports as it wasn't showing any sign of improvement rather was putting her into so much of pain .It isn't easy when you realize you are the one who is to remove or stop all supports, to be around when someone is breathing their last. Me and my colleague we prayed together for the patient and the family. Morphine had been administered . We waited, One Second seemed like One hour . Inch by Inch her body became lifeless but little did we know that her soul had long gone to be at a better place. A Place far away from Suffering and Sacrifices. 2:50 PM -TIME OF DEATH. I go back to the therapist room, trying to contemplate the random thoughts about life as it is and life after death. It was already 3 and by now I was famished. After a quick lunch and few hours with my patients administering therapy I head to time out my day. Exchange of warm feelings and a smile under the mask with our colleagues which was evident by reduction in the eyelid diameter and the eyebrow curvature had now become a part of our lives. The Same eyes which had seen something devastating ,now gives out entire different level of emotion of Warmth and Happiness. Marching towards the bus stop the eyes take pleasure in the affection between a newly married Couple both Medical fraternity , there is a rush of emotions on watching their interlocked fingers .The bus starts moving and the feeling of warmth is now replaced by feeling of empathy on spotting a group of strangers in dirty rags , hair unmamde and begging for alms. Coming home ,the thoughts about all Routine chores are brought to a pause to sanitize myself. After a long process of satisfying the " OCD" Monster in me , I head out to satisfy my hunger while listening to some worship songs. The day ends with thanksgiving and meditation on the word of God , which gives me strength for the next day. I thank God and ask him to make me even stronger to face greater challenges coming my way. Every day is a lesson, a lesson to make our tomorrow a better version of today❤

Cheers and God bless you all

Miss Alex


rags, unmade hair and beard


58 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page